Design, Fashion

Issey Miyake: L’Eau D’Issey Pour Homme

Writing in the New York Times when reviewing the exhibition Issey Miyake Making Things, Herbert Muschamp proposes that Miyake’s work is ‘grounded in that stretch of history called the present and draws meaning from fashion’s immediate context’.

Issey Miyake’s philosophy has never deviated. His goals are to create fragrances presented in simple yet functional bottle designs that are at once accessible and universal, while never losing a sense of wonder.

Following the success of 1992’s L’Eau D’Issey, its male equivalent L’Eau D’Issey Pour Homme was launched in 1994. However, it wasn’t until 2013 when I came across the product as an advertisement in Wired magazine, with a sample concealed underneath the sheet of paper it was printed on. It’s been one of my favourites ever since.

I have seen the scent described as ‘timeless’. Yet, most times when my nose catches a hint of the fragrance, I recall my then recent graduation and how upon purchasing L’Eau D’Issey Pour Homme in my first proper job, I felt surprisingly grown up.

L’Eau D’Issey Pour Homme can be purchased here and here.

Standard